Yamaha Motorcyes . org - Yamaha Motorcycle Information

Stewart at Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open

LAS VEGAS (October 10, 2009) – James Stewart, who rides for the San Manuel Yamaha race team, swept both nights of racing to win his third Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open tonight inside the MGM Grand Garden Arena and took home $100,000.

GEICO Powersports Honda’s Dan Reardon, of Murrieta, Calif., won the holeshot before being passed by Monster Energy/Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto, of Poulsbo, Wash., later in lap one. Villopoto took advantage of Stewart’s poor start and opened up a big lead while Stewart began working his way through the field.

On lap four, Stewart, of Haines City, Fla., quickly passed Reardon and set his sights on Villopoto. Stewart and Villopoto traded positions on lap 10 as Stewart moved into the lead and rode off to the win. Honda Red Bull Racing’s Davi Millsaps, of Tallahassee, Fla., passed Reardon for third place on the second to last lap.

“It was a fun race,” said Stewart. “I didn’t get the start that I wanted but I got the job done. The money is one thing but our team works really hard so this is rewarding for them. I was able to put in some really strong laps after I made my way around (Dan) Reardon.”

Chris Alldredge pushed his Yamaha to tonight’s moto win in the Alpinestars 85cc Mini Invitational and the overall championship. Alldredge, who finished second last night, opened a big lead over last night’s winner Adam Cianciarulo. On the final lap, Cianciarulo pulled up to Alldredge’s back wheel, but was unable to pass him.

“I tried to get the best start I could,” said Alldredge. “Last year I came into this race and didn’t do that well. I learned how to ride the whoops a lot better so I will be more comfortable when I race supercross.”

“I got hit off the start and came out almost dead last; it was hard to work through the pack,” said Cianciarulo. “I tried my best and tried to make up time where I could. I will be back next year.”

YouTube Preview Image

Saturday Night Open Class Results

  1. James Stewart, Yamaha
  2. Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
  3. Davi Millsaps, Honda
  4. Dan Reardon, Honda
  5. Michael Byrne, Suzuki
  6. Matt Boni, Honda
  7. Nick Wey, Yamaha
  8. Ezra Lusk, Suzuki
  9. Tyler Bowers, Yamaha
  10. Chris Blose, Honda

Overall Open Class Results

  1. James Stewart, Yamaha, 53
  2. Davi Millsaps, Honda, 44
  3. Dan Reardon, Honda, 40
  4. Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki, 31
  5. Michael Byrne, Suzuki, 27
  6. Nick Wey, Yamaha, 27
  7. Tyler Bowers, Yamaha, 27
  8. Chris Blose, Honda, 26
  9. Matt Boni, Honda, 25
  10. Matt Georke, Yamaha, 18

Saturday Night Alpinestars 85cc Mini Invitational

  1. Chris Alldredege, Yamaha
  2. Adam Cianciarulo, Kawasaki
  3. Thomas Covington, Kawasaki
  4. Colton Ford, KTM
  5. Brandan Leith, KTM
  6. Keith Tucker, Yamaha
  7. Troy Graffunder, Yamaha
  8. Cole Heath, Yamaha
  9. Jesse Masterpool, Suzuki
  10. Daniel Baker, KTM
  11. Nick Gaines, Kawasaki
  12. Andrew Pierce, Kawasaki

For more discussion about Yamaha motorcycle or on Yamaha Racing teams click on the links

Source USSX

No comments currently exist for this post.
Leave a Reply:

Latest Comments Sponsors
Sponsor Links
link arrows
Yamaha Motorcycle Archives RSS Yamaha Grizzly Forums